French Open Doubles Pair Disqualified After Striking Ball Girl

A controversial incident unfolded at the French Open when a doubles pair was disqualified after accidentally striking a ball girl between points. The pair in question, Japan’s Miyu Kato and Indonesia’s Aldila Sutjiadi were competing in the third round of the women’s doubles against Marie Bouzkova and Sara Sorribes Tormo.

During the match, Kato hit a ball down the court at the end of a point, unintentionally hitting the ball girl directly on the head. Unaware of the incoming ball, the girl began crying after being struck. Umpire Alexandre Juge initially issued a warning to Kato, but Bouzkova and Sorribes Tormo requested their opponents be disqualified.

Juge argued that Kato did not act intentionally and the ball girl was not injured. However, Sorribes Tormo and Bouzkova pointed out that the girl was crying and had blood. The umpire then spoke to the ball girl before returning to his chair and announcing the disqualification of Kato and Sutjiadi.

Bouzkova later commented on the incident, stating that they informed the umpire about the girl’s condition and the seriousness of the situation. She added that they told Kato and Sutjiadi that the incident was unfortunate.

This event follows a similar situation involving 16-year-old Mirra Andreeva, who feared disqualification after angrily swiping a ball into the crowd during her singles match. 

YouTube Link: